Thread: 90 Daytona ES Brake Problem

90 Daytona ES Brake Problem

Hello everyone! SO the otherday i noticed that my car made a nice metal on metal sound when i put the brake on...so i took the tire off to take a look. This is what i saw when i took the assembly apart... . I checked the caliper and it moves fine and the free floating parts feel alright. I know i'm not an expert by any means so I was wondering if anyone knew what the hell happened here.

Buy my stuff!!!!!!!!!!! :O) Turbo Mopar Vendor turbovanmanČ's Avatar

Re: 90 Daytona ES Brake Problem

That is caused by a seized or sticky piston/guides.
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO-For sale.
    2003 GSW 2.0L TDI, auto, fully loaded, modified, 360K-wife's.
    2004 GSW TDI, 5 speed, fully loaded, modified.

Aurora ignition wires for sale. Link to info

Super60 roller cams or custom/billet cams. Link to info

I'm assuming you need to pull it apart to do what to them? Replace or re-lube?

If its the sliders, lube them, if its the piston, just get some rebuilt calipers and do them in pairs.
    1989 FWD Turbo Caravan-2.5 TIII, GT35R, auto, a/c, cruise, pwr windows/locks, fully loaded with interior and ran with full exhaust. RETIRED FOR A FEW YEARS! 12.57@104 :O)
    1984 Chev Getaway van, 6.2 Diesel with a remote mounted turbo setup burning WMO-For sale.

Thanks, i'll give that a try.

One more thing it could be is the brake hose is collasped internally. Step on the brake pedal and release, then undo the bleeder nipple, if fluid spurts out, the brake hose is junk.

Mitsu booster