Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: would this programmer work for dcal?

  1. #1
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    561

    would this programmer work for dcal?

    The Willem Enhanced EPROM burners seem to be on backorder everywhere, so would this ebay programmer work? It comes with chips too:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...4174528&rd=1,1

    and will these sockets work?

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...7091&rd=1&rd=1

    thanks

  2. #2
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    561

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    this is for a logic module, by the way

  3. #3
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    19,742

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    The programmer will definatly work I use 27SF512 cips in my LM, and love them. The are flashable, so no UV eraser needed. I use what would appear to be the same socket as pictured, and if you go to the custom cal how to page on my site, you will see that I had to modify it slightly to get it to work.

  4. #4
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    561

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    Yep, your site is what I am getting all my info from
    The reason I was looking on ebay for a programmer is because the Willem one you recommended from MCU Mall is on backorder. As long as that programmer will work for me, and those chips are the right ones, I'll go ahead and order it.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Rhymes with tortoise. Turbo Mopar Staff cordes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tuscola, IL
    Posts
    19,742

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    Quote Originally Posted by tvanlant View Post
    Yep, your site is what I am getting all my info from
    The reason I was looking on ebay for a programmer is because the Willem one you recommended from MCU Mall is on backorder. As long as that programmer will work for me, and those chips are the right ones, I'll go ahead and order it.

    Thanks

    It should all work fine, glad I could help.

  6. #6
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Quincy, MI
    Posts
    256

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    The Enhanced Willem burner can be had on eBay for around $45 shipped. One downside to it, though, as I found out AFTER ordering mine, is that it isn't well suited for burning EPROMs (the ones with the window on 'em). This has to do with the power supply on it, and the voltages it produces (it gets the power from the USB port).

    The Willem Dual Power (that can use an external power supply) unit is much better suited for EPROM burning.

    If all you're burning is EEPROMs or Flash memory and the such, then either one will do just peachy.

  7. #7
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    564

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    Quote Originally Posted by tvanlant View Post
    The Willem Enhanced EPROM burners seem to be on backorder everywhere, so would this ebay programmer work? It comes with chips too:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...4174528&rd=1,1

    You can purchase that burner directly from Moates for $85.00 instead of the ebay price of $100.00

  8. #8
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    561

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    Dang. I already bought it. Guess I should have done a little more shopping.
    Thanks anyway. I haven't bought the sockets yet. Any advice on where to get those besides Ebay?

  9. #9
    Visit www.boostbutton.com... Turbo Mopar Contributor ShelGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Whitmore Lake, Michigan, Unite
    Posts
    9,918

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    Here's the best sources for chips/sockets for our ECU's:

    mouser.com <-- a full electronics supply
    digikey.com <-- ditto
    moates.net <-- just a tuner's supply

    The eBay sockets will work, and you can get Aries ZIF (zero-insertion-force, ie with a lever) sockets from Mouser and Digikey
    https://db.tt/SV7ONZpQ
    Rob Lloyd
    '89 Daytona C/S

    2.5 T1 Auto
    13.24 @ 100.5mph
    NHRA #3728 AF/S

    boostbutton.com
    tuning wiki

  10. #10
    Hybrid booster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    564

    Re: would this programmer work for dcal?

    Quote Originally Posted by tvanlant View Post
    Dang. I already bought it. Guess I should have done a little more shopping.
    Thanks anyway. I haven't bought the sockets yet. Any advice on where to get those besides Ebay?
    Don't feel too bad as the ebay auction seller is throwing in a couple of chips for free.

    Steve

Similar Threads

  1. Odometer doesnt work
    By 1966 dart wagon in forum Maintenance & General Tech
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 09:17 PM
  2. Help! Screwed up my marker lights, now then don't work!
    By daytonaturbo87 in forum "I need help!"
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-27-2006, 12:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •