PDA

View Full Version : Took the minivan to the track and need some tips

QC DSM ESiT
10-30-2006, 08:40 PM
Alright well for starters this is my first time ever racing the minivan and a first for ever racing an automatic. Wasn't sure exactly how to lauch an auto FWD so what I did was lauch it at about 1800 RPM but that was still pretty crappy for a lauch. I didn't get to experiment to much because it was so packed there I only got 4 runs in. Anyway here is what is done to it: MSD Blaster SS coil, Magnacore 8.5mm plug wires, NGK plugs one range colder, Autometer boost gauge, Turbo XS boost controler turned up to 12 PSI. Everything else is bone stock including the little Mitsu. turbo. Here was my best of the 4, I took out both benches, spare tire, and the jack. Any tips on how to get it down would be appreciated.

R/T - .673
60' - 2.391
330 - 6.680
1/8 - 10.327
MPH - 67.29
1000 - 13.499
1/4 - 16.194
MPH - 83.15

BIG PSI
10-30-2006, 10:23 PM
I would offer a couple ideas:

Ice the intake between rounds

Lower the tire pressure in the front tires to 25 psi

Raise the rear tire pressures to 45 psi

Move the boost to 14 psi and STOP THERE

Install a cooling fan switch so you can turn it on at the track (all the time)

If you have a/c remove the belt

Keep the gas between 1/4 to 1/2 (1/3 is best)

Check timing and set it to 12 degrees
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Install a 2.5 inch diameter exhaust..

Good luck and Have fun
Chuck

turbovanmanČ
10-30-2006, 10:48 PM
All good except no reason to remove a/c belt, when its not turned on, uses no power. The rad switch is a must otherwise it runs too hot. I wouldn't turn the boost up without a cut-out raiser-guaranteed you'll hit overboost cutout ast 14 psi.

You need stickier tires and practice launching. You should be leaving in boost but also use the brake out of the hole to control wheel spin. All in all, great job, your times are bang on for 12 psi Mitsu van.

QC DSM ESiT