PDA

View Full Version : What is involved in using a 3 Bar Map

Rebel Rob
01-08-2006, 02:42 AM
Like the heading states.. what all is involved in using a 3 bar... is there a how to some where... step by step cause I'm rather new to putting these together... and are they worth it I want to run a stage 4 comp from FWD or maybe one from turbos unleased and to run the one from cindy it says that a 3 Bar Map sensor and +40's i was planning on using the +40's.... so please let me know?? thanks.. Rob

turbovanmanČ
01-08-2006, 05:46 AM
I don't understand your question, sort of. If the cal requires a 3bar map, you have to run it. It lets the computer add fuel to 3 bar, which is around 29 psi. To install, you modify the map plug slightly and thats it. A 3bar cal won't run with a 2 bar map and vice versa as the vacuum to voltage tables are shifted.

Marcus86GLHS
01-08-2006, 07:11 AM
You'll need (3) things to start:

1. a 3 bar calibration (computer), available from TU, FWD Perf., and others
2. a 3 bar MAP sensor (available from same vendors or from Summit, etc)
3. a 3 bar MAP connector to go from your new computer to your new MAP sensor

example (this is for an omni so your cal/install of course will be different but same general concept applies to any 2 bar to 3 bar conversions):

here's the stock logic module from a turbo omni on the left, with the stock 2 bar MAP sensor removed from the computer (that square opening) showing the stock 2 bar MAP connector. on the right is a new 3 bar MAP connector that will have to replace the 2 bar connector on the left:
http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/8/web/632000-632999/632619_204_full.jpg

next i sent out the computer to my vendor (Turbos Unleashed) with the connector, the custom calibration is then done by the vendor and that 3 bar MAP connector is spliced onto the new logic module.