PDA

View Full Version : New '86 Chrysler Laser XT owner

ol' Grump
06-23-2016, 10:00 AM
Hi folks,

I recently acquired an '86 Chrysler Laser XT and I'm finding it a real fun car. I have no doubts I'll be asking questions, probably quite a few about this critter. It runs fine, but there are a few problems to be fixed. I read the thread bout the C/S windshield as mine does need one. the glass shop owner and I haven't been able to figure out how to take the broken one out to this point. Hopefully, this will give us some ideas about that.

Other minor stuff is the tachometer doesn't work, seems to be stuck on 3,000 rpm even with the engine off. Another one is the 12 button display in the top middle of the dash doesn't work, just displays wrong date and time starting from when I replaced the battery but those are a ways down the list at this time.

I mostly mess with old equipment, a D2 and a D4 Caterpillar, older snowmobiles and such. I'm a self taught mechanic, retired machinist/tool and die maker and retired welder.

glhs875
06-23-2016, 11:47 AM
Welcome!

Vigo
06-23-2016, 11:48 AM
I would reflow all the solder joints on the tachometer and jiggle/reseat the connectors on the back of the instrument cluster as a first step on the tachometer.

Welcome to the forum!

Wastelands Warrior
06-23-2016, 11:56 AM
Cool car, and welcome aboard!

chromguy
06-25-2016, 09:05 AM
Welcome
Here is a link to 12 button repair for your reference
http://www.daytonaturbo.com/tech-zone/12-electronics/10-12-button-navigator-rebuild

GLHNSLHT2
06-25-2016, 10:07 AM
Nice to see a fellow Northwesterner.

ol' Grump
06-27-2016, 09:30 AM
Thanks for that link chromeguy, it'll probably be winter project as I'm still trying to figure out how to get that darned windshield out w/o tearing things that would probably be hard to replace.

Believe it or not, I was doing some cleaning, lifted the rear mat and floorboard and lo and behold, there was the original spare tire and jack.

martin kolner