PDA

View Full Version : TIII Megasquirt on stock TIII sensors?

Force Fed Mopar
07-10-2015, 12:17 AM
Anybody got this to work properly yet? Trying to decide if I want to use the Megasquirt unit that came with my TIII, or get the SBEC socketed and use a flash module. It has a crank trigger setup on it I could use (was running on it before supposedly), but I think it would be cool to use the stock cam and crank sensors for a cleaner, more factory look. Seems that nobody has had particularly good luck with MS and Chrysler sensors, TIII or TII. And I have zero experience with MS, but lots using MP Tune and Turbonator cals.

Ondonti
07-10-2015, 10:25 AM
depends what kind of signal the tIII flywheel gives and the cam signal. The signal must be able to be interpretted by megasquirt. There are "general" signals that work, then some platforms need a unique bit of programming. These would include the 8 valve and also 6g72 DOHC motors. 36-1 or 12-1 are styles that are "general"

crusty shadow
07-11-2015, 05:54 AM
the stock TIII crank sensor reads the teeth on the flywheel, should be able to just set MS for the number of teeth on the flywheel and how many degrees per tooth. since its not a missing tooth crank wheel you will have to run the TIII cam sensor along with it so MS knows where the engine is and what cycle each cylinder is on.

if the MSIII you have was running a TIII before, hook it up and try it-- someone else may have figured out the hard part already.

Force Fed Mopar
07-11-2015, 03:56 PM
It was running the TIII but they were using a crank trigger wheel. If I can make it read the Chrysler sensors would be great. I have the crank trigger still so I can run it if it won't read them properly.

rx2mazda
07-11-2015, 08:58 PM
Stock TIII doesn't read the teeth on the flywheel, it reads off notches that are outside of the teeth (clutch side). If you have the crank trigger setup you should just use that and save the headache.

Aries_Turbo
07-11-2015, 11:17 PM