PDA

View Full Version : Shortblock building procedure questions

iTurbo
03-30-2013, 07:24 PM
I'm about to start building a 2.2L TIII shortblock with stock pistons/crank/rods. The main bolts are stock, but I'm using new ARP rod bolts. The crank and rods have been fully serviced. I am a total newbie at this, and I'm SICK of procrastinating any longer on this out of fear of failure. I have '91 Chrysler Factory Service Manuals that cover the procedure fairly well. I still have some questions though, since I don't have anybody near me that can walk me through this for the first time. I might be overthinking some of these things, but I just want to be sure.

1. When using Plasicgauge to check rod/main bearing clearance, I assume you need to have the parts very clean and free of any assembly lube. Do I put the strip of Plastigauge on the upper-most portion of the bearing? Do I need to check the clearance at different positions? Does the strip need to cover the full width of the bearing shell? Do I check all main bearing clearances at once or one at a time?

2. I notice there is not a tightening/loosening sequence for the rod and main bolts.. When assembling the main/rod caps, do you just tighten them evenly to seat the caps and do the final torque evenly on both sides? When tightening main caps, should I do I work inward to outward (#3 first, #1 and #5 last)?

3. Can anybody suggest a good assembly lube? The local machine shop says to use 'Lubriplate'..

4. Do I coat the rod/main bolts with motor oil or something else (dry?) Just a thin film to wet the threads or?

5. Should I chase the rod/main bolts with a die before installation? Should I chase the main threads in the block with a tap? The FSM suggests using a proper size nut and threading it on and back off and ensuring that it threads easily to check for bolt stretch.

6. What should I use to oil the cylinder bores for installation of the pistons?