PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum welding: Mig vs. Tig

83rampage
12-19-2012, 10:48 PM
Here's the deal,

I've got a Lincoln Migpak 15 welder, and I was considering getting the Lincoln spool kit for it for some light aluminum fabrication.

but...

my friend wants me to go half on a tig (Miller Diversion 165 was what we were thinking).

Being the tool budget is tight, what would be the better way to go. I know aluminum welding isn't easy regardless of the process, but does one stand out more than the other?

I don't anticipate any problems with owning only half a tig, so lets leave that part out of the discussion.

Thoughts?

fishcleaner
12-19-2012, 11:06 PM
I'm not a profesional welder but I do have a Diversion 165 and would recomend it. I don't think an aluminum spool gun would do thin aluminum like a TIG.

shayne
12-20-2012, 01:02 AM
but one thing to think about, with a 165 anything larger in overall size and thicker, say, 1/4", power becomes a big issue. the diversion does not always have a long enough duty cycle to be able to heat soak a large piece to make a suitable weld. i'd say if its general fabrication on medium thickness stuff usually then i'd say spoolgun, which can be used on stuff down too 1/8" pretty well with proper setup and patience (not rushing the welding to prevent an overheat of the piece), but if more finite work is in your future and wont have much demand for thicker stuff, than the tig is irreplaceable.
aluminum welding isnt that hard the biggest issue most folks have is lack of prep. the pieces need to be clean,clean,clean. and removing the dull oxide is critical.

Rrider
12-20-2012, 01:06 AM
I'd go halfsies. Sounds like a pretty close bud.

Later on you might be able to parallel in another inverter if you really need more power. I'm not sure if this is officially supported for the diversion 165 though.

http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=64093

RoadWarrior222
12-20-2012, 09:50 AM