PDA

View Full Version : Drag Racing - Front Swaybar? Or no Front Swaybar?

ShelGame
09-11-2012, 04:02 PM
Drag racers - do you run a front swaybar? or not? Why or why not?

I've been working on end-linking my front swaybar, but now I also want to take a bunch of weight out of the car. So, I'm thinking about just deleting it completely. So, I'd like ot hear from those that have tried racing without it.

By my estimation, the front swaybar + hardware weighs about 22lb.

turbo2point2
09-11-2012, 04:13 PM
I've been running without a sway bar for 10 years. No issues at all. Ditch it!

ShelGame
09-11-2012, 04:30 PM
I've been running without a sway bar for 10 years. No issues at all. Ditch it!

What kind of weight balance do you have across the fronts? Pretty even? Last time I had my car on corner scales it was about 5lbs heavy on the driver side (IIRC). I tried shimming the swaybar to even them out, but that just made the drivers side spin worse (even with a PG in the diff). Now, there's no 'extra' pre-load in it.

I guess it's easy enough to take out, and I'm going to the track this weekend for testing anyway...

turbovanmanČ
09-11-2012, 04:30 PM
I would say yes, as it helps/limit the front end from lifting. ^^^ above has a purpose built race car, :eyebrows:

ShelGame
09-11-2012, 04:36 PM
I would say yes, as it helps/limit the front end from lifting. ^^^ above has a purpose built race car, :eyebrows:

Yeah, but I want to free up the front end, IE let it lift. Hence the reason I was end-linking everything in the first place.

And, this is a purpose-built race-car, too. :p Just not as fast as Brian's...

It's got stickers and stuff, see below...

turboshad
09-11-2012, 05:04 PM