PDA

View Full Version : aluminum vs steel master cylinder

Fox
08-02-2012, 12:24 PM
ordered a new master cylinder from rock auto the one i received is steel vs the factory aluminum, everything else is right will this be a problem ?
the one i got is raybestos mc39476

anyone know what one to buy to get the 24mm aluminum one ?

Vigo
08-02-2012, 12:27 PM
It wont cause you any problems. When i have bought new i have gotten steel for these things in the past. Other than the fact that it gets rusty after a while and stops being pretty, it will do the same job.

turbovanmanČ
08-02-2012, 04:36 PM
What he said, and unless your trying to save weight, IE every last oz, then no worries. I've been using one for 9 years.

135sohc
08-02-2012, 04:48 PM
From time to time you can look on ebay and find NOS bendix branded MC's and they are essentially oem parts from old parts store stock being liquidated, thats how I got a NOS brake booster for $35. If you want an aluminum MC.

zin
08-03-2012, 08:44 PM
One other point is that the AL units cannot be rebuilt, but a steel unit can. The reason for this is that the AL units have all the Anodizing removed from the bore which will cause a failure very quickly, whereas a steel unit will just be a bit over-sized from being honed, but the rebuild kits generally take that into account and fit properly.

Mike

cordes
08-03-2012, 11:01 PM
One other point is that the AL units cannot be rebuilt, but a steel unit can. The reason for this is that the AL units have all the Anodizing removed from the bore which will cause a failure very quickly, whereas a steel unit will just be a bit over-sized from being honed, but the rebuild kits generally take that into account and fit properly.

Mike

You could always have someone anodize it again, but that's most likely cost prohibitive.

RoadWarrior222
08-04-2012, 09:25 AM