PDA

View Full Version : SDS tuning (timing)

1FastCSX289
08-02-2006, 10:58 PM
Hey guys, I recently purchased TD member Josh's (theCSXmachine) 89 CSX. Specs here: http://www.viplift.com/shelby.html

I am trying to tune the computer (SDS-EM4F). The fuel and ignition curves seem a bit out of wack. Im running into some knock and my first thought was to back off the timing (its pig rich). I did some research on the yahoo d-cal group and got some sample timing maps. I was going to copy the Mopar Performance 87 T2 cal. When I looked into it, its almost as aggressive as what is already programmed into the SDS. Should I use the stock 89 T2 timing map to start with....or this map just way too conservative? Maybe a stock 87 T2 map? Any other ideas on where I should start with timing this thing?

I am completely new to SDS and know virtually nothing. So any good advice is welcome.

I dont know if you have to be a member of the group to view this, but here are the sample maps that I was looking at on the yahoo d-cal group:

http://f5.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/sGbRRP7LCYa7kW_glMdy_BSZ2BR2ACPyVvKz63zvcX8As9ds0u O0JydkaXDCWh3bercE3UPfdEkj7PEhdGnf0J38zwcBSfAtH4-paw/Spark%20Advance%20Comparisons/87MPT2vs87T2sparkadvance.pdf

EDIT: ONE MORE question. Why is the 89 T2 spark advance so much more conservative than the 87 spark advance? Is cylinder head design an issue? The CSX has a swirl head.......so should I go with the 89 curve?

Heres what I mean:
http://f1.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/sGbRRKksRAC7kW_gdgVj-D61qTyVCQmpW_W_8g59Dplo7Hedob8fnkdvuS31gunhLVrKX6L 74ZXEZODJEuU5KgaCZwIwoK70F2y55A/Spark%20Advance%20Comparisons/89T1vs89T2sparkadvance.pdf

BadAssPerformance
08-02-2006, 11:04 PM
Im running into some knock and my first thought was to back off the timing (its pig rich).

So it knocks, and its rich???