PDA

View Full Version : Auto Transmission questions, 3.0 - v6 daytona

Supershafts
04-04-2012, 02:44 PM
I am new to this style trans and motors, been a mopar guy for 40 years plenty of experience with all the sb's and bb's and the A,B,C and E bodies, jeeps and trucks... The G body is kinda foreign to me...

Here's the issue, the trans in the 91 has lost od and is now shifting badly so the trans is most likely done for and i stopped using it before im just stranded with no forward movement at all...

I do not believe in replacing something with the same old, instead this is the time to make improvements. . . .

I don't know what improvements are available are there better 1st gear options for this trans, a totally different trans, i don't even know wtf trans this is, if it was a 904, 727/518, 46,48 rh re or whatever RD style trans i would know what to and who to call for what. . .

This i have no clue, so basically i'd like some performance built into this trans, as of now the motor is kinda stock a little hit of n2o here and there, but i have never got around to looking for any other perf for this car, it was always slated to be converted to a sb. . . but thinking now is leave it alone and play with whats there.

So anyone know these trans and what good performance can be built into them , better 1st gear this or that....

135sohc
04-04-2012, 04:01 PM
It is a chrysler Ultradrive transmission under the designation originally of A604 then 40/41TE. It is a totally electronically controlled transmission in the sense compared to a torqueflite transmission.

chrysler made numerouse upgrades over the lifespan of the transmission. Someone like transtar sells complete kits or look online.

Supershafts
04-04-2012, 04:34 PM
Ok so i see they have some upgrade stuff for the clutches and in the OD unit section also to deal with increased power.

Now how would i go about finding the area that tells which trans this is.