PDA

View Full Version : 289 carb info needed

JuXsA
08-01-2006, 05:31 PM
I just got a 65 Galaxie Wagon. Its a 4v head with a 2bbl intake and carb. I plan on getting an edelbrock 289 performer intake and a set of old 5.0 mustang gt shorty headers. What I am stuck on is getting a carb.

The first carb I was looking at is at:
http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive_...erformer.shtml
its the #1406 600cfm carb.
The other one I was looking at was the #1403 which is 500cfm
I have also recently been looking at Holley carbs.
The link to the info on the holley is:
http://www.holley.com/types/Street_Avenger.asp
The actual carb I was looking at is here:
http://www.holley.com/0-80570.asp
Its a 570cfm carb. Its sounds pretty sweet but being a TD guy I am new to all this old school stuff.

This is not a hotrod. Its a station wagon with a 289. I am just doing some basic bolt ons to give it a bit more pep. This thing will be mostly used to go on roadtrips, camping, and towing stuff around. I can get the intake cheap and I can get the mustang headers from a friend for $50. The holley costs a little more then the Edelbrock but I have heard its worth it.

Help.....
Thanks

turbovanmanČ
08-01-2006, 05:48 PM
I don't like Holley but some do. I have used Edelbrocks, crude car but they work. The 1406 is perfect for your needs. You will have to get it set up by a shop with a sniffer, there generally rich out of the box.

JuXsA
08-01-2006, 06:13 PM
I have heard that holley's needed to be tuned and that was the advantage of the edelbrock was that you could pretty much just bolt it on and go. But I have heard with the new Street Avenger series that holley makes is that they need hardly any tunning and are good right out of the box.

turbovanmanČ
08-01-2006, 07:09 PM