PDA

View Full Version : Built 413 no reverse questions

bgbmxer
02-15-2012, 06:47 PM
Looking to buy a car has a built auto and a cheeta rmvb in it. Has all forward gears but no reverse.

1 where do I start in diagnosing fixing
2 comes with a spare auto trans should I just swap the valvebody and what's all involved in that?

Sorry I'm a complete newb to autos. Never tackled one yet

turbovanmanČ
02-15-2012, 10:01 PM
Its probably the lo/reverse servo, which can be fixed without taking the trans apart. I would pick up the ATSG book adn go thru it, that will help you familirize yourself then you can ask questions and know what we are talking about when we answer you, :nod:

denviola
02-15-2012, 10:03 PM
I have no experience with reverse pattern valve bodies. In a stock transmission, if the low/reverse band breaks it will still move forward weakly but not at all in reverse since the band can no longer bind the rear clutch drum (at least that is how the 904/727 trans worked). If it moves forward well, then the reverse servo probably has an issue either in the servo itself or an issue with the VB providing fluid pressure. Has the car been sitting for an extended period of time? Is the fluid up to proper level, is it pink and has a good smell or dark and burned? If dark and smells bad, don't bother swapping VB, it's burned up. Overfilling an auto trans is bad too, the fluid contacts the rotating assemblies and gets filled with air bubbles. Can burn the clutches as well.

If you have pressure gauges and a service manual as diagnosis tools, you can more accurately find the problem. I would not just swap the VB, if the installed trans has mods the stock VB may or may not work properly. If you want to overhaul a trans for the car, I still have all my tools (except gauges). Stock ATs are surprisingly simple inside.

bgbmxer
02-15-2012, 10:12 PM