PDA

View Full Version : Cut out issue

Gaboon
10-09-2011, 02:56 PM
87 shelby charger converted to TII with a relentless Perf logic two bar map.

Over boost completely removed.

This cut out issue, I have been chasing for two years now and has prevented me from racing. The last time I raced, I blew my intake manifold up during a nitrous run because the car cut out and filled the intake with NOS, once it fired again, it sounded leke a twelve gage going off in front of me.
Pump gas, I run max of 17 lbs.
This seems to happen only in fourth gear when I step on it from a slow cruise and always at 5200 rpm Under or over that mark it seems fine.
If I run through the gears,second, third into and through fourth it won,t happen.
I have changed the hep, map and my TPS (voltage at WOT is 4.5 volts (no codes)

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Joe

turbovanmanČ
10-09-2011, 02:59 PM
Check the SDS and bypass the Baro sensor, leave it hooked but run the vacuum line straight to the MAP. I had the same issue for years and found it by a fluke.

Gaboon
10-09-2011, 03:02 PM
I'm having a brain fart here, what's the SDS?

turbovanmanČ
10-09-2011, 03:06 PM
Speed Distance Sensor, ;)

Gaboon
10-09-2011, 03:14 PM
Doh!
Actually, I'm almost certain the SDS is good. I replaced it not too long ago and a few times over the years. The car will stall at every stop when it goes bad.
I'll bypass the baro and see how it runs. I'll be back.

Gaboon
10-09-2011, 03:31 PM
Bypassed it, same darn thing! Any other ideas?

turbovanmanČ
10-09-2011, 03:39 PM
Ok, sounds good. I've also had bad wiring coming off the SDS too.

cordes
10-09-2011, 04:53 PM
It's pretty easy to check the SDS wiring by testing for continuity while spinning the gear.