PDA

View Full Version : Turbonator or any tuning software for Android?

minigts
09-21-2011, 05:24 PM
I know this has been brought up before, but is anyone working on this? I personally would love to see this happen, but I'm not a programmer. Anything I can do to help spur this along, please let me know. I can test, I can provide input and funding if necessary. :)

minigts
09-22-2011, 09:18 AM
Ok, here is the first step. This is a page on integration with the FTDI chipset and an Android device. I got the chip name from Moates who wasn't aware of any development, but I found this information on the chipset manufacturer's site.

http://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Documents/AppNotes/AN_181_Accessing%20Android%20Open%20Accessory%20Mo de%20with%20Vinculum-II.pdf

This is their chipset, which is used for the Ostrich system.

http://www.ftdichip.com/Android.htm

Yes, my intent is directed at a need I have, but this would be good if we had Android support for tuning capabilities. Being able to tune from a phone or tablet would be awesome. :)

RoadWarrior222
09-22-2011, 09:52 AM
Where's the TM'er solution where you hack up a sub $10 bluetooth headset to the data lines?

minigts
09-22-2011, 11:29 AM
Where's the TM'er solution where you hack up a sub $10 bluetooth headset to the data lines?

lol Well some of the tuning systems, like the Ostrich (1.0 I believe) have a bluetooth option. If I'm not mistaken, badandy has/had this implemented on his Shadow a while back. He said he could tune the car from his living room while the car sat quietly in the garage. :) I'm looking more to have an Android tablet in the car wired to the Ostrich 2.0 I have and use the tuning software to make changes and then use the interface to send updates to the Ostrich, if this is possible. I'd LOVE to do it, but I don't know where to start with programming, so I'm at the mercy of those more advanced in technology that I.

ShelGame
09-22-2011, 01:05 PM