PDA

View Full Version : Took the Little Omni to the Track for the first time.

PunKid
05-15-2011, 09:45 AM
Specifics

1985 Dodge Omni GLH-T. Bone stock except a full 3" exhaust, 2.5" S/V, and a Straight through Magna flow muffler.

Driver, 180lbs I have raced my 72 D100 (13.7 @ 101mph), 88 Ramcharger (17.0 @ 78mph), 2003 Dakota (15.6 @ 87mph) and two bikes 87 Yamaha Fazer (12.6 @ 107mph) and 2006 Buell Lighting XB9SX (12.6 @ 105mph) So I have some experience but none with FWD or a Turbo.

Best run of the night

15.762 @ 87.33 with a 2.34 60ft

Conditions

50F, at sea level. Track seamed good traction wise.

I am happy with my results. I am actually very please with my 60ft for almost bone stock. But I was thinking I would be closer to low 15s and a little Higher in the MPH.

I do have a couple things that need to address that will help me out.

-I have had a little more then a half tank of fuel, as well as some tools and parts in the back.
-I have a code 54 that i can't seams to fix, so i think I am not getting full timing.
-I am only seeing 8psi in 4th (not sure on the other gears). I see anywhere from 7-10psi on the street. I have the stuff to build a G-valve.

So maybe with a G-Valve set at 10psi, less fuel and fixing the code 54 I will run a low 15.

BadAssPerformance
05-15-2011, 09:50 AM
Nice work for the first time out! :thumb:

Sounds like your "to address" list is a good start to better times. If you up the boost, make sure you got enough fuel!

Check the "1/4 mile times" link in my sig... add your info to that thread... We can all track your progress :thumb:

PunKid
05-15-2011, 10:25 AM
I almost fogot the real question I had is shift point.

I have seen a bunch of dyno graphs of these cars and they always seams to have great torque but fall flat on there face above 5000rpm

So my shift RPM was

1-2 was at 5000RPM
2-3 was at 5200RPM
3-4 was at 5300RPM