PDA

View Full Version : code 13 replaced MAP - won't run now.

gears351
11-12-2010, 07:22 PM
Ok, I've been chasing gremlins down from this engine swap for 3 months now. I've got a code 13 and the MAP has perfect vac going to it. So I break down and buy a new map sensor - 89 Daytona 2.5 T2 Carquest AS8.

I plug it in and fire it up..... Truck won't run! stumbles, coughs dies, foot on the gas can't keep it running.

So I pull it back out and put the old one back in - runs "perfect" but still throws a code 13.

CEL stays on, anyone got any ideas?

cordes
11-12-2010, 07:29 PM
Have you tried bypassing the baro read solenoid?

DevoBuzz
11-12-2010, 07:31 PM
When you say perfect vac - is the line big enouigh without any restrictions? I had a code 13 and turned out that the vacuum T was one of those for multiple size hoses. I put a good size T in and it went away.

shelbymonster
11-12-2010, 07:57 PM
try direct vac from intake

gears351
11-12-2010, 09:46 PM
direct vac from manifold 3/8" (or is it 10mm) barb sticking up out of the manifold behind the valve cover. I am running it into one of those universal sized stepped Ts, one branch goes to a Y with the BOV and the FP Regulator and the other Ys to the BarioSolenoid & Wastegate.

I bypassed the solenoid with no difference in running & the code stays (as well as the CEL staying on).

I've got Vac through the solenoid but haven't put a gauge on it. Guess I'll get some numbers that way tomorrow.

Vac on the boost gauge (tee-d from the power booster) reads 20 inHg at idle, boost peaked at 14 but now it's cutting out around 7.

Thanks for the ideas guys

onerippinturbo2
11-12-2010, 10:05 PM
the new sensor you hgot from cq was for a nonturbo.

sdac guy
11-12-2010, 10:53 PM
Code 13 says that the MAP is not seeing any difference in intake manifold pressure during engine cranking prior to startup. It must see a voltage difference of at least .04 volt during cranking, if not it sets code 13.