PDA

View Full Version : 2-step with an auto trans?

SebringLX
07-05-2010, 07:44 PM
I'll be getting my car back from the trans shop on the 16th with a brand new beefy torque converter and 4000 rpm stall speed.

I have an MSD DIS-2+ on the car. It has a 2-step feature. All I need to do is hook the blue wire up to a button on a 12v switch to activate it.

I've never used a 2-step before, and all the cars I've seen with one have all been manual. Is it ok to use one with an auto trans, or does that even matter?

My thoughts...

Holding the brake and bringing the RPMs up toward stall speed is probably going to build around 15lbs of boost. If I do this with only part throttle, the PCM is going to try and maintain stoich. Probably not too good for the engine.

If I hook up the 2-step, I can set it to just below the stall speed at like 3800rpms, then just hold the button and the brake and floor it, then release the brake and button when the lights go. That should give me WOT fuel enrichment, so safe AFRs while it's building boost on the line, and a realy good launch right?

Am I on the right track here? If so, where is the best place to try and mount the button?

Keito
07-06-2010, 08:01 AM
With a 2 step on an auto car, don't you need a trans brake?

prepared
07-06-2010, 08:55 AM
I'll be getting my car back from the trans shop on the 16th with a brand new beefy torque converter and 4000 rpm stall speed.

I have an MSD DIS-2+ on the car. It has a 2-step feature. All I need to do is hook the blue wire up to a button on a 12v switch to activate it.

I've never used a 2-step before, and all the cars I've seen with one have all been manual. Is it ok to use one with an auto trans, or does that even matter?

My thoughts...

Holding the brake and bringing the RPMs up toward stall speed is probably going to build around 15lbs of boost. If I do this with only part throttle, the PCM is going to try and maintain stoich. Probably not too good for the engine.