PDA

View Full Version : Redoing the headliner, visors, and HUD.

Mopar318
12-29-2009, 10:10 AM
Well, since I do aircraft interiors for a living, and automotive upholstery on the side Ill post up some pictures and how to's on doing a headliner the "professional" way.

Here are some pictures from yesterday.

Pulled the headliner out, the only trim pieces that need to come off are the A-piller trim, and they really only need to be moved out of the way. After the sunv visors, HUD, and the 2 metal brackets in the headliner are removed the headliner will slid foward of the back to trim pieces, and you can pull it out of the either door.

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d48/Mopar318/IMG_0040.jpg

Next I set everything on my table to be stripped. first removed all the trim so that the new material could be glued in place, and the trim installed back on.
http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d48/Mopar318/IMG_0042.jpg
http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d48/Mopar318/IMG_0039.jpg
The guy that tried doing this before loved duct tape and what looks to be like Seel tape. I will be removing this and gluing in and mesh if the headliner is crubled at all.

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d48/Mopar318/IMG_0041.jpg

Thats all I have right now, the 220 to my garage has turned into 110, and I found it to be a break in the wire somewhere underground. GREAT! so I have no heat in the garage, I need heet to spray the glue (above 60 degree F)

The glue I spray is Weldwood Landau top adhesive.

minigts
12-29-2009, 12:40 PM
Man when you take the headliner off PLEASE document how you do this! I had the worst time trying to remove good headliner that wasn't dry rotted.

Mopar318
12-29-2009, 12:48 PM
Man when you take the headliner off PLEASE document how you do this! I had the worst time trying to remove good headliner that wasn't dry rotted.