PDA

View Full Version : Just got back from driving Baja 500-sort of

2.216VTurbo
05-17-2006, 01:31 AM
OK, so the real thing isn't until June 2-4, but I am going to crew for a 2 car class 1 'buggy' team:) Cars have 14+" of travel, Mendiola 5spd trannies and one is Cadillac Northstar powered and the other class IV Porsche 2.8l six. Both cars have torque in spades but I have to give the nod to the Northstar for all around grunt and top end rip. Since we were just prerrunning the course last weekend the mood is pretty light and after I rode for 3.5 hours as co-driver/navigator the team owner suggested a driver change:D Not relly confident on how to drive a rig like that and I am not at all familiar with the car but who on this list would say no?:thumb: 5+ hours later and ~110 course miles, I'm a pro:cool:

These cars will soak up an amazing amount of punishment and deliver very little of it to the driver. Six foot drop off into a river bed-no problem just keep the throttle open so it doesn't nose over and it feels like you just dropped off a curb. 40 degree incline up a rocky dusty trail with huge ruts? Again keep the gas on and momentum up and they scramble right up:thumb:

The absolute worst part is the dust! Even though the helmets have a filtered fresh air inake that blows filtered accross your face, the stuff gets in your eyes and covers your face shield in just a few miles. If you approach slower traffic, you sometimes have to come to a crawl just to let the dust settle so you can see to pass. Wadding the following car into the car ahead is an all to common problem during the race:( We were prerunning with only 20-30 cars/trucks/bikes/quads on the track and it was like a sandstrom for parts of the course! On race day there will be over 200 vehicals running and it will be much worse:eek: