PDA

View Full Version : 2.4L PT Cruiser engine into an 89 Caravan?

turbo89mini
08-27-2009, 08:49 PM
So.....

I have just spent the last little bit reading through these forums. I have some questions. Let me first give you an overview.

I have an 89 turbo Caravan with the stock 2.5L engine and 3spd trans.

I am a Mechanical Engineering student at a large university. Chrysler donated a PT cruiser to our department in 1999 to do testing and research before they started selling the PT cruiser in 2000. As far as I know, we got the car, then immediately ripped it apart (including removing the engine and transmission. The engine/trans has been sitting on a pallet ever since. As far as I know it as basically no miles on it.

I have the opportunity to obtain this engine.

I want to put it in my van.

I read through the thread where the guy put an SRT-4 engine in his 89 Plymouth Voyager. However, my PT cruiser 2.4L engine is the same as the Neon 2.4L engine, which I believe is slightly different from the SRT-4 2.4L engine (I hope that sentance makes sense).

Is this doable? I know the PT cruiser used the 4 spd Torqeflite transmission which was first used in 1989 in some of the Dodge Caravans equipped with the 3.0 and 3.3L engines.

Thoughts? Comments? Jokes?

Thanks!

ShelGame
08-27-2009, 10:08 PM
Minor differences in the head from SRT4, that's all. It should swap in as easily as any other 2.4. Also, the early Neon's got the 3-speed auto and it will bolt right onto the 2.4 you have there. Probably easier than trying to wire in the computer to control the 4-speed 604.

turbo89mini
08-27-2009, 11:43 PM
Are you talking about the Gen II Neons with the 31TH? Isn't that the same as the A413 that I currently have?....I think it might be!

turbovanmanČ
08-28-2009, 02:44 AM
Why would there be any jokes? :confused: