PDA

View Full Version : cooked or salvageable?

shadow88
04-22-2006, 07:28 PM
HYPOTHETICAL SITUATION

Let's say the oil drainback tube was kinked or restricted. Vehicle smoked out of the exhaust from oil backing up in the turbo. If the oil return is corrected, is the turbo damaged or will it come back to life?

Lee'sdaytona
04-22-2006, 07:47 PM
I would say it would be ok. I would think having too much oil in there would be much better than no oil at all where it would seize for sure. I would guess that after fixing the problem, it would smoke for a bit as the excess oil burns off than you would be ok
-Lee

The S is Silent
04-22-2006, 09:05 PM
Would not having a PCV valve cause a turbo to smoke intermittently? This thread just made me think about the problem I'm having...would too much crankcase pressure cause the oil to not drain out of the turbo fast enough?

As for your hypothetical...I have no experience to base an answer on. Your guess is as good as mine.

Chris W
04-23-2006, 01:12 AM
HYPOTHETICAL SITUATION

Let's say the oil drainback tube was kinked or restricted. Vehicle smoked out of the exhaust from oil backing up in the turbo. If the oil return is corrected, is the turbo damaged or will it come back to life?

Check/replace fouled spark plugs. Check/replace plugged catalytic convertor. Blowing oil out the turbo will kill a cat in short order. In most cases, turbo seals will reseat themselves without issues.

Chris-TU

altered7151
04-23-2006, 01:32 AM
Would not having a PCV valve cause a turbo to smoke intermittently? This thread just made me think about the problem I'm having...would too much crankcase pressure cause the oil to not drain out of the turbo fast enough?

As for your hypothetical...I have no experience to base an answer on. Your guess is as good as mine.