PDA

View Full Version : SDAC-19 Judgement Call

neonsox
03-01-2009, 12:19 PM
I live in Massachusetts, about 800 miles from Cincinnati. Lodging is all set due to family, but I don't have a trailer. I'm wondering what people 500+ miles away from these events do. Do I just put the 1600 miles on the Lancer and drive it? Can I rent a truck/trailer combo for anywhere close to a decent amount of money and tow it? What is usually done? This is my first year really planning to hit the events, so I'm wondering what all you wiley veterans do to keep your cars from racking up the mileage.

"Top Fuel" Bender
03-01-2009, 12:39 PM
If your car is reliable and doesn't usually break because you maintain it
then just drive it and say heck with the miles on the car, the experience is worth more then the mileage
If it's a hard hitting dragcar/road race car then yeah trailer it

Some of the west coast folks like to rent cars and then hit it with the :nx:
Allen = nitrous 300C and Catty
Dave and Joe had a blast renting a PT Cruiser conv.

denviola
03-01-2009, 12:55 PM
Will be trailering car this year, mainly because I never had one of my own cars ready and either drove the Ram to 15 and 16, (missed 17) and last year towed another member's car and we shared as part of the deal.

Another great reason to trailer is that wife is coming with me this year, and if she wants to vacation doing something else there she would still have a vehicle to use. Looks like you said family is coming in your post, so you may want to consider trailering to keep the family option open.

Denny

neonsox
03-01-2009, 04:48 PM
No family coming, family out there to stay with for the 5 days. I'm sure the car would make it just fine, I'm just trying to keep the mileage down. Judging by the pictures though it's a great experience worth the trip. I'll have to see what I can come up with.

Gaboon
03-16-2009, 01:07 PM
All but one year I've driven mine to SDAC and most times it's quite a hike for me living in Canucistan.