PDA

View Full Version : What do you find easier?

Mopar318
02-16-2009, 07:34 PM
Do you guys find it easier to pull the engine with the trans, or just unbolt the trans and pull the engine seperate.

Ill be digging into this tomorrow and pulling the engine for the first time in the daytona. Just looking for some input.

turbovanmanČ
02-16-2009, 07:53 PM
With a 5 speed car, pull the engine and trans, its very tight to remove the engine leaving the trans in the car. You could pull the trans first but thats more work.

raccoon
02-16-2009, 07:54 PM
together

jl93sundance
02-16-2009, 07:55 PM
together out the top....

Mopar318
02-16-2009, 07:58 PM
With a 5 speed car, pull the engine and trans, its very tight to remove the engine leaving the trans in the car. You could pull the trans first but thats more work.

Sounds good. pull the axles first Im guessing? Im still a newbie to this FWD stuff.:D

jl93sundance
02-16-2009, 07:59 PM
Sounds good. pull the axles first Im guessing? Im still a newbie to this FWD stuff.:D

Yes pull the axles:thumb:

Mopar318
02-16-2009, 08:03 PM
Yes pull the axles:thumb:

It would be nice if they magically popped out while pulling the engine.:lol:

Anonymous_User
02-17-2009, 02:21 AM
Car on hoist, drop k-member, drop engine/tranny combo out the bottom. :)

butchsuppe
02-17-2009, 02:38 AM
WTF these guys sure do everything the hard way as in more work involved. Pull just the eng. with the crank pulley off. This way you don't have to mess with the axles, shift cables + speedo cable if it has one. Pulled the eng. more than once on my Laser without pulling the trans. You need to support the trans after the motors out, I use straps to do this. I've only changed 1 or 2 HUNDRED car engines in my life + only a few it was best to pull the trans with it. Your Tona isn't one of them. I also change my turbo without pulling the head.

Mopar318
02-17-2009, 09:49 AM