PDA

View Full Version : Installed Manual Switch for Rad Fan

Whorse
04-09-2006, 02:08 PM
Well, since it's starting to get warm out, and I've been driving around with no rad fan for a couple months, I decided it was time to do something. I bought a T2 rad, mounted it, and decided just to wire it to an on/off switch in my console.

Since I couldn't get any voltage at the plug off the wiring harness (I think the relay is shot from when the fan blew up), I cut the wires and plug off of the old garbage fan from my 87TBI, which matches right up. The black wire with the white stripe goes to ground or (-) on the battery, and I ran the positive inside the car to the switch. I ended up using some 14AWG speaker wire I had kicking around since it's a 2 conductor wire and I would only have to run one wire to make the connection. Drilled a hole in the little dish below my convertible top switch, ran the wires and the switch under the console and mounted it in the bottom of the dish (took about a 3/4" hole).

On the battery side I had two loose wires, so I just shortened one and connected it to my positive (luckily I have an aftermarket battery terminal and all I had to do was strip the wire and put it in an empty slot on the terminal and tighten with an allan wrench). Ran the other to the bare wire I had left on the plug I cut from my TBI, and used a butt connector to splice them. Little piece of wire conduit for protection and it worked like a charm.

Sucks that I can't run it through the relay so the computer will still control it, but that's another problem, and easy to fix if I replace the relay. For now I'm just happy that I'll finally be able to keep my car cool when I'm in traffic and parking lots.

Riverratt
04-09-2006, 03:46 PM
LOL the people that owned my GLH-T "hot wired" and spliced and hacked it so that when you cut the foglights on, they rad fan came on....I was NOT..happy about it...:mad:

Whorse
04-09-2006, 06:56 PM