PDA

View Full Version : "Suck Through" turbo removal

85_600
04-07-2006, 04:29 PM
Ok, I'm a newbie when it comes to engine work and removing items like the intake and exhaust manifold.

Basic question here: In my "Haynes" book (I know, I know :o ) it says, as one of the steps to removing the turbo, to remove the right drive axle. All I'm doing is fixing the compression problem (pulling the head) and converting to a T2 setup. I'm doing this with the engine "in car"...Do I "Really" need to remove the axle to get the turbo out? Or, when pulling the head, once the head is out, just pull the turbo out from the top?

Thanks!
Paul

cordes
04-07-2006, 04:40 PM
I have only had my log car for a very short ammount of time, but I see absolutly no reason to remove the right side axle to pull the head.

You will need to disconnect every thing from the head that is needed to pull it, and then remove the turbo once the head is off. I believe that the turbo is pretty easy to pull on the log cars with the head on. Although if it has not been off of the car in 20 years and it is your first time, I would not reccomend doing it that way.

altered7151
04-07-2006, 05:08 PM
There's no need to pull the axle, as long as you unhook the coolant line from the back of the block (be prepared to get wet) and can disconnect the exhaust donut (lots of PB blaster is you best friend on that one) you're fine. And dont forget to unbolt the turbo to block brace. That should be all you have to do on the back of the block, and its all accessible with the axle in.

85_600
04-07-2006, 05:11 PM
I have only had my log car for a very short ammount of time, but I see absolutly no reason to remove the right side axle to pull the head.