PDA

View Full Version : 2.4L 8v hybrid?

BadAssPerformance
12-31-2008, 11:26 AM
First off, being a 2.4L swap guy, I'm not really a big fan of hybrids as they dont make sense to me... BUT being an engineer I like to discuss crazy ideas and appreciate all those who have experimented with hybrids :clap:

Obviously the 16v heads have more flow potential than the non-cross flow 8v heads (which is why the hybrid swaps started) but the 2.4L blocks are arguably superior to the 2.2/2.5L blocks... and there are several 10 second 8v cars, and SPM went 9's, sooo, I gotta ask

Anyone ever put a 2.2L 8v head on a 2.4L block yet? :D

mboyek
12-31-2008, 12:07 PM
I don't know the answer to your question, but some food for thought.

Stock DOHC head flows allot more than the 8v stock. Clean the DOHC up a little and its easy to flow 2x as much.

I like to compare the ability to spool a turbo as a good flow comparison. I have a Holset hy-35,or he1 whatever. I'm not sure exactly but its the 9cm housing, not the 12. The engine will start building boost at 2000 rpm with cam's zeroed timing wise. Right now I have my wastegate set at 5psi for break in, and I have that 5 psi by 2200. I also have a very crappy log manifold. Whywoody also has a similar setup and likes it allot, but runs real boost numbers. From what I have read about 8v guys bolting on this turbo is they get boost to build starting around 3000 rpm.

Also, external drains on the 8v head would be a little more complicated. It would be easier to do them in the front, but the block is angled away. Sides maybe, back too crowded. The 8v valve springs are like 2x as big as the 16v heads springs, I'm not sure if you gain efficiency going to 16v as there is more friction from 2x cams and 2x valvetrain but all that stuff is smaller and may have less friction?