PDA

View Full Version : twin mitsu 2.5

4cefedomni
03-29-2006, 07:02 PM
i'm trying to go twin mitsu's on my omni with 30-35 psi in my sights. Just curious what i will have to do to the wastegates to hold that much pressure. and if its not possible then how i could modify them to work with an external wastegate (i'm making my own header so it is a possibility). the reason i'm going with the mitsu turbos is that i have five of them and i got some rebuild kits for them for $100 each so these are the turbos i'm using please don't tell me i should go with a hybrid or something. thanks

Ground Rat
03-29-2006, 10:16 PM
I'm kind of new at the TD thing, but isn't 30+psi way out of the mitsu's range? If you are getting 15psi a piece on those turbos, aren't you still at only 15psi, just more CFM? Also, how hard would it be to spool twins on a 4cyl? :confused:

cordes
03-29-2006, 10:26 PM
You will probably kill those little things at that boost level, and toast your motor with scorching hot boost.

That being said, let me dig up the link to Carl's web site which details his TT mitsu shadow...

ETA: Link

http://66.78.24.116/index.htm

4cefedomni
03-29-2006, 10:28 PM
i'm not sure myself i've never done it before but if one is good for 15psi then 2 should do 30 right? and the twin mitsu thing has been done once to my knowledge in a dodge shadow i believe it was Brian Slowes. If memory serves the lag wasn't that bad and it was capable of some high boost numbers. I hope mine will work well if not i build a new header and get a bigger turbo but right now thats out of my pricerange and i already have the turbos.

Wink
03-29-2006, 10:33 PM
Look at the mitsy compressor maps. None of the TD04 or TD05 maps will go to 30+ psi. If they can't get to that pressure, then two won't be able to. They will just be able to flow twice the amount of flow per psi. That's all.

cordes
03-29-2006, 10:33 PM
I posted the link.

15PSI from turbo1 +15PSI from turbo2 does not = 30PSI.