PDA

View Full Version : Good original paint under a Bad Old Paint job.

rosie
09-14-2008, 06:45 PM
The question is after my intro. :blah: Look for the :confused:

I have lots of experience with our beloved communities obsession with OUR cars, but for me it has always been doing a lot with a little and never anything with body work. I figured it just made the stompings that much more fun. I am now diving into the world of paint and boy is it labor intensive. I'm hoping this thread gets legs because I know there are alot of painters out there.

I Have an 87 Shelby Lancer that I have always wanted (auto with leather with nothing missing... except for ONE center cap button) that has sat for at LEAST 8 years. The guy I bought it for is a :angel: because first he saved it from the yard 8+ years ago when his neighbor got into a fight with his mechanic over money and a crappy head job and then stored it in his backyard (uncovered but interior protected)... It is beautiful what clean leather in these cars look like. AND, he held the car from anyone who was going to part it out, even if they were buying the whole car! Well it went to a good home and now I am taking care of the paint. It'd be easier to take it to a paint shop but I like stories and the end result of this one is looking good. No pun intended.

SO

I have a Shelby Lancer that sat with new paint for a long time. Learning from my omni I learned not to be scared of (wet)sanding.

The car is pink from oxidation by the way.

I sanded off the oxidation in a small area, worked my way up to rubbing compound (later switched to a DA buffer and Meguairs paint cleaner) and I had one shiny little red spot on the car.

Experiment 1. There is good paint under the oxidation.

time to shorten this up

When I started doing larger sections the car is now red on one side but looks like hell. Some spots were taken down to the new primer and other spots look like there is smoke under the red.