PDA

View Full Version : Auto VS. Manual trans

fishcleaner
08-11-2008, 11:25 PM
I have no experience with the automatic trans and just wanted to get some input from you guys about the pros and cons of the 413 vs a 555 trans. I'm shooting for 400hp and the car will be raced, but driven to the track.
questions I have:

Is the auto faster?

Is the auto shifter as bad as the manual?

What trans is more durable?

cordes
08-11-2008, 11:30 PM
A 555 with a plate won't need an expensive converter and a lot of mods to make it live day in and day out. Everyone is right when they say that the 413 can be made to live, but it can't be done for what I would want to pay.

Plus all the cool kids have 5 speeds. :nod:

fishcleaner
08-11-2008, 11:48 PM
for what I would want to pay
I hear ya, I have a 555 with a plate but it needs a quaife so I'm looking at a price of expensive or more expensive. the shifter sucks on the 5sp and I don't hear to many people praising their clutches, thats why I was thinking about an auto. Has anyone switched out to an auto and gone faster without any engine mods?

turbovanmanČ
08-12-2008, 02:34 AM
I really prefer auto's- pro's are easier to launch, more consistant, easier to build boost at the line. Con's are converter costs but thats coming down and considering the price of a clutch, I think a converter is a better deal.

I think I've read an auto is slightly faster but lower MPH and 5 speed is vice versa. Either way, its up to you and what you prefer, rowing gears or shifting 1-2-3. Oh, RMVB also makes it easier although I still am in auto mode so far.

t3rse
08-12-2008, 07:51 AM
Auto will always be quicker when setup properly...downside is cost.

Vigo
08-12-2008, 08:35 AM