PDA

View Full Version : filter in turbo??

Juggy
05-10-2008, 06:58 PM
hey I was wondering about that filter in the oil feed hole?? it looks pretty restricting....Ive heard about some people taking these out?? is it best to leave it in there?? its a GT DBB

the turbo is new....btw thats quite the machining needed to make it work for the Chrysler exhaust housing!!! As a machinist I can easily see why you charge $250 for modified housings.

I need to place an order soon, are there any other things I could get to help preserve the life of this turbo?? I think I may invest in one of them micron filters.

Chris W
05-10-2008, 08:43 PM
hey I was wondering about that filter in the oil feed hole?? it looks pretty restricting....Ive heard about some people taking these out?? is it best to leave it in there?? its a GT DBB

the turbo is new....btw thats quite the machining needed to make it work for the Chrysler exhaust housing!!! As a machinist I can easily see why you charge $250 for modified housings.

I need to place an order soon, are there any other things I could get to help preserve the life of this turbo?? I think I may invest in one of them micron filters.

Sorry, I have no way of matching up members names here to actual customers of ours. Did you get the turbo directly from us? I don't recall seeing any filters in the oil inlet side, but I haven't looked lately. We have 6 GT-DBB turbos in stock right now so I will check them all to see if they have the same filters you spoke about. Got a picture?

Chris-TU

Juggy
05-10-2008, 09:25 PM
I could snap a picture....its the one Frank Katzenberger was selling, it looks like this thing screws into the oil feed???

Chris W
05-10-2008, 10:25 PM
I could snap a picture....its the one Frank Katzenberger was selling, it looks like this thing screws into the oil feed???

Are you sure it's not just a restrictor? The newer DBB units are usually machined with a smaller feed orifice to reduce oil flow. Post a pic.

Chris-TU

moparzrule