PDA

View Full Version : Willem programmer on 1990 SBEC- No Start -- PLEASE HELP

Swart
04-28-2008, 12:36 AM
I just recently took my '90 SBEC computer and installed a ZIF socket on the board in place of the original 87c257 chip. Purchased the dual power willem programmer, and set the dip switches to the settings that Willem says to use for the 27c256.

The willem programming software says that the cal flashes okay. I can also read the chip fine when I put it back into the willem programmer. I plug the chip into the car, key on, and I get no ASD function, but it will flash codes. I know that the wiring is good because I tried a stock SBEC and ASD works fine. I bought another SBEC and socketed it too and am having the same results. I really don't think that either SBEC is bad as a result of my work. I am a very competent electrical engineer and doing this kind of socketing chip work is a piece of cake. I was *VERY* careful in removing the potting compound from the board on the chip area, and soldering, and I also verified that the solder joints were all good with an ohmmeter.

Will the SBEC still spit out and (flash check engine light) codes with an improperly flashed chip? I still think that there is some kind of minor setting that I am missing in order for this to work correctly.

Any ideas to help me get this car started???? PLEASE help!

Thank you in advance,
Chuck

risen
04-28-2008, 01:09 AM
Just to make sure, you are actually flashing an 87c257 chip and not a 27c256, correct? I'm pretty sure that you can't interchange the 2 types of chip due to an address latch on the 87c style chip. If so, you're sure you have the chip oriented correctly in the ZIF?

If the SBEC can't read the software off the chip, it has no idea how to flash codes at you and won't have any idea how to cycle the ASD.

2.216VTurbo
04-28-2008, 01:19 AM
Couple years agao I didn't know about the 'notch' on the chip and had installed one 'backwards' it was a no start deal that way:o