PDA

View Full Version : Clutch Replacement - A520

CletusJones
02-28-2006, 06:41 PM
I'm going to be doing some work on my 87 'Tona (2.5TBI) and figured with 125k on the factory clutch it might be time for a replacement. How big of a job is it? I've never done a FWD clutch before so I wouldn't know where to begin. I have the FSM for the car though and have done a few clutches in the past.

The car would be on jackstands in a garage but have access to a lift if the occasion calls for it.

Tips, tricks, recommendations?

edit: I'm planning on putting a turbo motor in the car next winter but not replacing the trans. The 520 is pretty stout, right?

GLHSKEN
02-28-2006, 07:32 PM
The 520 can handle it.

Clutch is not a bad job. If doing it alone, I use a hoist to lift the trans up so I can mate it.

Take the shift cable bracket with the sahifers still attached off... Easier install.

The output shaft flange 4 bolts remove them and the housing.. Makes everything much easier.

tryingbe
03-01-2006, 01:44 AM
First, I'd replace all three seals on the tranny. The input shaft seals, and the drive shaft seals. You can get them from napa for under $20. You do NOT want to do this job twice because the tranny seal goes 4 months from now. While you're at it, replace the rear main seal as well. You don't have to do them, but it's cheap insurance that you won't have to do them again. I made the mistake of not replacing the input seal on a used tranny and I had to pull that tranny out twice. :(