PDA

View Full Version : #463 Back from SAAC

johnl
02-27-2006, 12:42 AM
Drove it to Vegas, ran Saturday Track Day; got my visor signed, did Fremont street show, did Sunday show at Shelby, ate chili, got in car and drove home.

I was a total newbie to auto roadracing so SoCal TD guys - Alan and Boyd, told me where to start the Konis/tires.

There were only two TDs that did the track days, mine on Saturday and Stanley (gotta find his card) from Utah brought his Shelby Charger T1.

Car ran great, drove it there, raced it, drove it home. Went fast; passed and lapped lots of Fords. (Went with the "C" group of course so that is not such a big deal - but it felt good) Big welcomes were made by honchos from both Shelby American and from SAAC. When I pulled in after my second session, three national officers of SAAC made it a point to walk from the pit wall to where we were set up and to thank me for coming and to encourage me (and all Dodge Shelbys) to come again. I asked them about bringing turbo Dodges, as opposed to Shelbys, and they said it would be pretty hard to disallow them when they already allow all kinds of kit car/non-Shelby Cobra and Shelby Mustang clones. There appeared to my poor eye, to be more than a few fastbacks painted up as GT350s out on the track. They went on to say that bigger fields benefit all.