PDA

View Full Version : How do I choose a carb, cam and intake manifold for my 318?

TurbododgePirate
02-27-2008, 11:55 AM
I am new to working on carbed V8's. I have a 1985 Dodge D150 pickup with auto tranny. Stock it had a amazing 140 hp!!! Well, that just plain sucks. So, I am getting a pair of summit headers 3" cats and 3" mufflers. I am keeping the stock heads right now, but within a year will be getting a pair of heads form a 340.. I think they have 2.02" valves.

Anyway, I have no idea what to get for a carb, intake or cam. I want to tow my charger with the truck, but I would also like to take it to the strip and not have it be a total turd. If I can keep mileage above 10mpg it would be nice.

I want to do bolt-ons, no machine work. Any suggestions?

Turbodave
02-27-2008, 12:42 PM
I think a simple dual plane 4bbl intake like an edlebrock performer would work well for you. That plus a an edelbrock carb are pretty much good to go right out of the box. I believe they offer a performer Cam that matches that setup as well.

As far as exhaust, Dual 3" pipes might be a bit much. If it was me I would run dual 2.5" pipes to help retain some of the low end your going to want for towing. Bigger is better doesn't apply to a naturally aspirated engine in the same ways as our turbo cars. Even going from a single 2.5" pipe to a single 3" I noticed a loss of low end on my 96 318 powered Ram.

turbovanmanČ
02-27-2008, 04:20 PM
Phone Comp Cams or whichever cam line you want, they will tell you what cam you need.

The heads suck on 318's, if you can, upgrade to Swirl or 360 heads. 2.02 intake valves are probably too big for a 318, your going to have to deshroud the bores. You also need to replace the pistons or mill the heads to bring the compression up if you using old style 360 heads.

You want a 600 Holley Avenger type or Edelbrock Performer carb, I haven't used the Holley but use the Performers all the time, plus there a snap too tune.