PDA

View Full Version : 2.2 OR 2.5 16 Valve?

2.2turboscotty
02-21-2008, 11:35 AM
i am going to try to go the hybrid route with my son's new found project and i am totally new to the 16 valve thing. first off i have never attempted any thing like this but i have been reading up on some of your guy's builds. my son is 15 and he is very interested in joining us with the turbo mopar love and frustations that go along with it. we have been looking for a Omni but came across a perfectly straight minivan with 3.0 in it that was abandoned at a local lot and the owner of the property said he would almost give it away, thinking 50 bucks. it is the panel van one with no windows on the sides so it should be lighter than the ones with windows and that should help. i was given a 2.0 DOHC motor and i want to use the head on a 2.2 or 2.5. i need some opinions on which bottom end would be better for this build up. i like the 2.2 because it revs higher but i have mostly L bodies and they are really light and i know the van will be quite a bit heavier. i want to go auto but my son really wants a manual, what would be better in a van?
i just need some input from you guys so we go the right way with this, it will be a mostly street driven van. also what psi is good for keeping it fast but not working on it every weekend, any help would be appreciated. we are really looking forward to building this together and plan on starting this weekend.

shelbyplaya
02-21-2008, 11:42 AM
If your gonna bulid a mini i would go with a 2.5l dues to it's higher torque.

If your gonna go with an omni then i would go with a 2.2l. i went with a hybrid 2.5l into a daytona because the tracks i race on are short tracks so the torque is better for me.

2.2turboscotty
02-21-2008, 12:50 PM