PDA

View Full Version : Body work help

1FastCSX289
12-11-2007, 02:02 PM
I am NOT a body guy so excuse my ignorance. Ive done a little body work and I want to get better.....so I am taking on the task of painting my grill and front air dam for my CSX. I stripped, and primered the grill.....wet sanded with 320 and then 800 grit and then sprayed the color. It actually looks pretty good, but I need to do the clear coat yet. Heres my question.....do I need to wet sand prior to the clear coat? If so, what grit should I be using? ANd then after the clear....sand that coat? What grit?

Im not looking for a show stopping paint job.....it just needs to look decent. So I am not going to do more than 1 or 2 coats of clear.....

Thanks for the advice.

Speedeuphoria
12-11-2007, 02:28 PM
well I'm no expert either, but since you didnt do the clear over the wet base I would suggest you wet sand the base. I think 800 would be ok if its wet paper.

Normally stuff that you cant buff very easily like the grille ect.. you want do get some slick coats of clear on it so then you dont have to wetsand/colorsand and buff it out. But again no ones a pro here(well speaking of me and you)

If you do sand after the clear you need 2-3000 grit(unigrit prefered). Then you still have to go over it w/ a rotary or lots of time and elbow grease(and still wont finish out like a rotary)

spoolinhard
12-11-2007, 06:40 PM
You dont have to sand before spraying clear, as long as you clear it before it has fully cured. It should say on the can what kind of time frame you have. With the PPG stuff I use, you have up to 24 hours to clear without sanding, after that you just have to break open the surface of the basecoat. Easiest way to do that is with a light scuffing pad. You should be able to clear within 20min to 30min after basecoat, but check your application to make sure first. I dont know what product you are using.
-Kaleb

1FastCSX289
12-11-2007, 06:45 PM