PDA

View Full Version : 2.4L intake runner length discussion

BadAssPerformance
06-13-2007, 11:34 PM
2.4L intake starter kit here.

Long Runner manifold or Short Runner manifold. Which is better and why?

cordes
06-13-2007, 11:37 PM
From a pragmatic standpoint, the shorter runners might be beneficial to someone with limited space.

BadAssPerformance
06-13-2007, 11:40 PM
True, depending on where you need the space. If a large plenum is added on the end of those short runners is ends up being further from the front of the head than the long runner plenum would be. Could make those runners really short tho...

TonaChris
06-13-2007, 11:44 PM
Im no pro, but from what I understand the question seems too broad. It depends what your set up is like and where in the rpm range you want it to be most efficient.

BadAssPerformance
06-13-2007, 11:48 PM
It is meant to be a VERY broad discussion type question.

Why would you want them short? or Why would you want them long? ...only commonality being both would be for a 2.4L turbo motor.

TurboGLH
06-14-2007, 12:36 AM
With the stock stratus intake (long runner), the low rpm torque is great but power above 5k is poor. Since the head is obviously not the problem, the power band seems to be affected a good deal by the runner length and the plenum volume.

I personally think a 2.4 has enough stroke to make more than enough torque without help. The stock srt intake has short runners and a moderate sized plenum and on the stock turbo with minimal mods my car made 250+ ft/lb from 2600-5500rpm and 300+ from 3000-5000rpm with no effect on hp to redline (at least none that can't be attributed to the boost fall off)

Short runners, big plenum is the way I'd go.

Frank
06-14-2007, 06:20 AM