PDA

View Full Version : Garrett Disassembly

riceboyler
12-21-2005, 10:14 AM
This past weekend, I began tearing the head from my old Omni apart, and as the turbo only had about 3000 miles on it since a rebuild.

I was able to get the compressor side housing off very easily and checked for play (which there was none) but when trying to get the hot side off, it didn't want to come off after removing all of the hardware. Additionally, I found that the previous owner had broken 3 of the 6 swingvalve bolts off (and I snapped another 1), so I'm trying to get the exhaust housing off entirely so I can swap this center section into the housings on my current CSX as the bearings have started to get a bit noisy.

What am I missing here? Why will the exhaust side housing not break free? Is there some hidden bolt I don't know of or is it just due to the heat. Honestly, this is my first time EVER disassembling a turbo, so any help would be very welcome. I might add that the simplicity of this thing is overwhelming. It's amazing more cars don't use turbos.

GLHS592
12-21-2005, 10:26 AM
If it's so simple, then why haven't you gotten it apart? :)

Seriously, heat and rust are common problems. Are you sure you have all the bolts out? You might have to take some penatrating oil and a rubber mallet to it.

DodgeZ
12-21-2005, 10:30 AM
This past weekend, I began tearing the head from my old Omni apart, and as the turbo only had about 3000 miles on it since a rebuild.

I was able to get the compressor side housing off very easily and checked for play (which there was none) but when trying to get the hot side off, it didn't want to come off after removing all of the hardware. Additionally, I found that the previous owner had broken 3 of the 6 swingvalve bolts off (and I snapped another 1), so I'm trying to get the exhaust housing off entirely so I can swap this center section into the housings on my current CSX as the bearings have started to get a bit noisy.