PDA

View Full Version : my theory behind making myself a sleeper.

snapcaked
05-28-2007, 10:23 PM
so i have a 1990 Dodge Dynasty (3.3L), and i kinda wanna make it a sleeper to push around the local ricers. lol. so here's what i was thinking as far as options, keep in mind i'm new to the mopar world and just looking for the experience and having something to do portion, watching ricers cry is another thing i wouldn't mind doing:

1) keep the 3.3, throw in some 3.8 parts theoretically making it a 3.5L (when time comes for a rebuild). i really kind of want to Turbo it (i know there's a guy who did it, so theory being it could happen) i hate that A604, but who doesn't?

2) find a newer 3.8L and tranny at the junkyard, rebuild it, make it create boost (whether that be turbo or blower, im not picky) throw it in, and be good to go. essentially adding mods along the way like a cold air intake etc.

3) find a 3.5L and do the same (what tranny's come on that? and will it fit?)

4) get really lucky and find someone who junked their 06 or 07 Pacifica or Nitro and snag the 4.0L...along with that, would that tranny work?

if theres a better option or a different road i should be looking down, please let me know. any advice or tips is always appreciated.

-Devin-

Turbodave
06-06-2007, 04:09 PM
Welcome! A turbo 3.8 Dynasty sounds like a lot fun.

I know a guy in Omaha that turbo'd his 3.3 Dynasty haven't talked to him in a while, but the car was pretty quick once he got it running right. He did have a lot of trouble with parts breaking and I don't know if he ever got it to the point that it was reliable.

I'm not too familiar with the 3.5 and 4.0's to know whether or not they will swap right in.

There have been a few 3.0's succesfully turbo'ed. You may be able to get some information from them as the challenges they went through will be similar.